Big Society, Disability and Civil Society Research

Website for ESRC research project 'Big Society? Disabled People with Learning Disabilities and Civil Society'

What would happen to you if advocacy services were cut?

Leave a comment

I would lose touch with my friends and I wouldn’t have anything to do, I would lose my job at the moment I speak up for people who can’t speak and I lead on our projects like Healthy surfers which teaches people to us the internet safely and look up health information to help people understand things,  I wouldn’t be able to do that without this organisation  (Jodie).

I would be lost without my advocacy service. They have given me a lot of advice around benefits and letters to help me understand what they are about (Emma).

I would lose my friends that I have made (Glen).

I would probably be on Job Seekers and struggle to find a job. I would lose my job, I represent people and I couldn’t do that, I would be lonely, My advocacy work has helped me and a lot of other people feel valued, where would we be without advocacy. (Robert).

I would lose my independence and confidence to travel alone I am learning about things at Speakup and I couldn’t do that or see my friends I would have nowhere to go. (Antony).

I would have less things to do. I would lose my confidence, I would have to find another job so that i could pay my mortgage; but jobs are hard to find for people with learning disabilities. I have two girls I wouldn’t make ends meet. I would be lonely my advocacy group forms part of my circle of support. (Vicky).

I would have to find another job so that I could pay my rent. I would feel lost because i wouldn’t be able to contact my friends. I would lose my new skills. I would not learn new things, At Speakup I have learnt to read much better than I did and I represent people and speak up about things that make our lives bad and speak up for things that make our lives good I couldn’t be able to do that. (Alison).

Leave a Reply

